National Faculty 2018-2019

Our faculty members from national hospitals have been an integral part of our program. Here are some of them:


Dr Shahan Waheed – MBBS, FCPS

Dr Shahan is one of the first consultants in Emergency Medicine from the
College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan (CPSP). He is urrently working at Aga Khan University Hospital, and is an honored recipient of the Fogarty Johns Hopkins- International Collaborative Trauma, Violence and Injury Research Training Fellowship program for PhD. He is the recipient of Postgraduate Medical Education (PGME) research excellence award from Aga Khan University Hospital in 2015. Dr Shahan is also the Co-Principal Investigator of Heat Emergencies Awareness and Treatment (HEAT) Study – a cluster randomized trial funded by the r2HC (Research for Humanitarian Crisis). Founding director of Emergency Medicine Education (EME) a non-profit organization working to introduce innovation in education in emergency medicine.

Dr. Syed Akmal Sultan – MBBS, MRCS (Ire.), FCPS (Orth.)

Dr Akmal is currently working as an Assistant Professor and Consultant Trauma Orthopaedic Surgeon, at the Shaheed Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto Trauma Centre, Dr. Ruth K. M. Pfau Civil Hospital Karachi. He completed his training from Liaquat National Hospital, Karachi and The Indus Hospital Karachi. He has a clinical fellowship in Spine Surgery from the Combined Military Hospital, Rawalpindi and did his AO Spine Fellowship from UMC-Utrecht, Netherlands. He is part of the national faculty of AO Spine Pakistan
and the faculty of the live spine surgery workshops held at CMH-Rawalpindi on a regular basis. He is a visiting faculty at The Indus Hospital Karachi.